6:00 – 7:00pm, Friday 2 November, WPAC Theatre

The Victorian Youth Jazz Collective is a brand-new organisation committed to providing aspiring young jazz musicians an opportunity to further their skills and passion for improvisation and ensemble music. It was founded and commenced in 2018, and is open for advanced music students between the ages of 16-21. The VYJC present a number of diverse projects throughout each season, exposing students to a variety of musical opportunities, to collaborate with both national and international guest, whilst fostering their own talents as musicians.

The VYJC have collaborated with artists such as Julien Wilson, Kristin Berardi, Rich DeRosa, Drew Zaremba and James Mustafa. The Laneway Big Band (formally the Victorian Youth Big Band) was the primary ensemble of the Victorian Youth Jazz Collective, and will be one of three big band programs to be offered by the VYJC in 2019. The group commenced in 2018 and conducted three different projects under the guidance of artistic director James Mustafa.


Selene Messinis artistic director – conductor
Harper Dawson alto sax/flute
Genevieve Kuner alto sax/soprano sax
Thomas Tuohy tenor sax/clarinet
Joseph Ronfeldt tenor sax/clarinet
Alexandra Tan baritone sax/bass clarinet
Sebastian Calderon trumpet/flügelhorn
Nithiya Pathmasiri trumpet/flügelhorn
Eliza Turner t trumpet/flügelhorn
Liam O’Neill trumpet/flügelhorn
Benjamin Sametz trumpet/flügelhorn
Callum Mintzis trombone
James Farrough trombone
Cam Philipps trombone
Max Castor bass trombone
Finn Milne piano/keyboard
Toshi Cornelius guitar
Ben Ingvarson drum kit
Blakely McLean Davies upright bass , electric bass
Miro Lauritz percussion/vibraphone
Nathan Iuoras composer-in-residence