National Jazz Awards

 Australia’s Most Prestigious Jazz Award



Designed to provide encouragement and exposure to young musicians (up to 35 years of age), Australia’s most prestigious jazz competition, the National Jazz Awards, has been a highlight each year since the Festival began in 1990.

Each year ten finalists are chosen to perform, for the chance to win up to $12,000, and valuable opportunities to gain industry recognition and boost their careers.

With past winners including now prominent artists such as Barney McAll, James Muller, Phil Slater, Scott Tinkler, Michelle Nicolle and Stephen Magnusson, the benefits of succeeding in the National Jazz Awards are far reaching.


Australian Register of Cultural Organisations

We are proud to welcome a new era of generous support from those wishing to contribute to the development of Australian culture; in particular the development and recognition of young jazz and blues musicians.

Wangaratta Jazz and Blues is listed on the Australian Register of Cultural Organisations which means gifts donated to our Jazz and Blues Development Fund are tax deductible.

Since 2009, the National Jazz Awards have been supported by donors Anthony and Sharon Lee from Sydney, who are “delighted to be associated with the prestigious National Jazz Awards and Wangaratta Jazz and Blues.”

Members of the Festival Board, the Artistic Director, and all those associated with the Festival thank Anthony and Sharon for their generosity and ongoing, valuable contribution to the development of Australian music.

Sharing...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Share on RedditTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone